Local News

COVID-19 coronavirus: Remote Aboriginal communities – restrictions on entering

The State and Federal Governments have partnered to restrict access the Kimberley and remote Aboriginal communities.

The remote communities travel restrictions are in place to protect the health and wellbeing of residents in the Kimberley and remote Aboriginal communities.

From 9.00pm on Thursday 26 March 2020, access has been restricted into the following regions:

  • Kimberley (comprising all four local government areas)
  • Shire of Ngaanyatjarraku
  • Parts of the Shire of East Pilbara that encompass the communities of:
    • Jigalong
    • Martu homeland communities
    • Kiwirrkurra.

Under these arrangements, any person who is outside a designated area can only enter that region if that person:

  • is providing essential services or supplies
  • has been quarantined from the general public for the previous 14 days
  • qualifies for a special exemption (including mining and food production) and adheres to strict conditions that minimise the risk of COVID-19 spread.

For more information visit:

For information on an exemption, email WABiosecurityEntryRequest@police.wa.gov.au

The COVID hotline — 13 COVID (13 26843) — is available for members of the public to ask a range of COVID related questions.

The restrictions for the designated areas are enforceable through emergency determination powers under the Biosecurity Act 2015 (Cth).

A jail term of up to five-years could apply to those who breach the determination.

Within the Commonwealth designated areas and for all remote Aboriginal communities outside these designated areas, the State Government’s Remote Aboriginal Communities Directions will continue to apply.

Breaches of these directions could attract a fine of up to $50,000.

User Review
0 (0 votes)

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Major Sponsors

%d bloggers like this: